Ministarstvo vanjskih i europskih poslova RH

Visa requirements overview

Here you can find basic information about the visa regime between the Republic of Croatia and all other countries/entities.

Information on this web site is liable to change, therefore we advise seeking additional information before travelling:

  • for Croatian nationals travelling to other country/entity - at the diplomatic mission/consular post/Office of that country in the Republic of Croatia or in other country
  • for third-country nationals travelling to the Republic of Croatia - at the competent Croatian diplomatic mission/consular post
Establishment of diplomatic relations: 07/01/1993

DM/CO To Croatia or other/neighbouring country


Rómer Flóris u. 57
H-1024 Budapest

Tel: +36 1 21 22 021, 21 22 022
Fax: +36 1 21 22 025

DM/CO Of The Republic of Croatia


21 Conway Street
London W1T 6BN

Tel: 0044 207 3872022,
Cons.: 73871144
Fax: 0044 207 3870310,
Cons.: 73870936

Oakland Centre
No. 48 Aguiyi Ironsi Street
2nd floor, right wing, Maitiama
Abuja FCT , Nigeria

Tel: +234.(0)70.1700.1005
Fax: +234.(0)70.1700.1133

Visa requirements overview

Citizens of NIGERIA:

Ordinary Passport Yes
Diplomatic/official passport Yes

*Application for visa may be submitted to the nearest Croatian diplomatic mission/consular post. Visa applications can also be submitted at the visa application center in Abuja.  For further details please check the VFS website ( or contact the Embassy of the Republic of Croatia in Pretoria, Republic of South Africa.

Citizens of Croatia:

Ordinary Passport Yes
Diplomatic/official passport Yes

*Croatian nationals can obtain visa via the e-visa system at or directly at the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in Budapest.


Measures to suppress and prevent the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19):

Until further notice, the lodging of a visa application at the Croatian Embassies/Consulates is temporarily suspended.

Suspension of receipt of the visa application does not apply to the following categories of persons:

  • family members of Croatian nationals (spouse and child);
  • persons who have been granted temporary residence for the purposes referred to in Article 47 of the Aliens Act (Official Gazette, Nos. 130/11, 74/13, 69/17 and 46/2018), or have been issued a residence and work permit in the Republic Croatia;
  • healthcare professionals, healthcare researchers and collaborators, experts in care for the elderly and persons requiring urgent medical treatment,
  • goods carriers and other transport personnel, to the extent necessary;
  • diplomats, police officers in the performance of their duties, civil protection services and teams, international organizations staff and international military personnel in carrying out their functions;
  • passengers in transit, provided that they prove the possibility to enter the country of destination;

This category of persons also includes seafarers in transit, and seafarers who come to Croatia for embarkation/disembarkation

  • persons traveling for urgent personal reasons, such as:
  • death of a family member - attendance to funeral,
  • serious and urgent health reasons provided that medical documentation and a hospital invitation is presented,
  • ownership of a real estate,
  • ownership of a vessel including lease.

Until further notice, all communications related to obtaining the necessary information regarding the Croatian visa requirements shall be made by electronic mail (

Until further notice, the delivery and storage of guarantee letters is only possible by mail (address: Služba za vize, Petretićev trg 2 10000 Zagreb).


Pursuant to the Government’s Decision, starting with 22 July 2014, the Republic of Croatia applies the Decision No 565/2014/EU. All third-country nationals who are holders of valid Schengen documents, as well as national visas and residence permits of Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania do not require an additional (Croatian) visa for Croatia.

Third-country nationals who are holders of:

  • uniform visa (C) for two or multiple entries, valid for all Schengen Area Member States;
  • visa with limited territorial validity (LTV visa), for two or multiple entries, issued to the holder of a travel document that is not recognised by one or more, but not all of the Schengen Area Member States, and which is valid for the territory of the Member States recognising the travel document;
  • long-stay visa (D) for stays exceeding three months, issued by one of the Schengen Area Member State;
  • residence permit issued by one of the Schengen Area Member State;
  • national visas for two or multiple entries and residence permits of Bulgaria, listed in Annex I of the Decision No 565/2014/EU;
  • national visas for two or multiple entries and residence permits of Cyprus, listed in Annex III of the Decision No 565/2014/EU;
  • national visas for two or multiple entries and residence permits of Romania, listed in Annex IV of the Decision No 565/2014/EU;

do not require a visa for transit or intended stays in the territory of Croatia not exceeding 90 days in any 180-day period.

The Decision No 565/2014/EU is available at:

Nationals of Kosovo, who are holders of Schengen visas with limited territorial validity (LTV visas), valid for all Schengen countries except for Spain (-ES), do not require additional Croatian visa for transit through or intended stays in the territory of the Republic of Croatia not exceeding 90 days in any 180-day period.

The period of validity of the above mentioned Schengen, Bulgarian, Cypriot, and Romanian documents must cover the duration of the transit or stay.

Passport has to be valid for at least another three months after the planned departure from Croatia and issued within the previous 10 years.

This facilitated entry of third-country nationals is in force until Croatia fully applies the provisions of the Schengen acquis.


Third-country nationals who require a visa for Croatia can fill out the visa application form on-line at (available in English, Russian, Ukrainian, Albanian, and Turkish language). Printed and filled out application form, along with other required documents, should be submitted to the competent Croatian Embassy/Consulate or visa centre or through an accredited tourist agency.


Visa applications can also be submitted at VFS Visa Application Centres in:

Algeria -

Armenia -

Azerbaijan -

Bahrein -

Belarus -

China -

Egypt -

India -

Indonesia -

Jordan -

Kazakhstan -

Kosovo -

Kuwait -

Lebanon -

Mongoliji -

Morocco -

Nigeria -

Oman -

Philippines -

Qatar -

Russia -

Saudi Arabia -

South Africa -

Thailand -

Turkey -

Ukraine -

United Arab Emirates -

Vietnam -



All questions regarding Croatia’s visa regime can be submitted at: